Roles, Responsibilities and Authority

Higher Education is regulated by Articles 130 and 131 of the Constitution of the Republic of Turkey and the Higher Education Law No. 2547. In accordance with Article 16 of this law (2547), the Department is defined as an academic unit where education and practice activities are carried out, comprising at least one field of science and forming a department. The Higher Education Executive Board decides on the establishment, unification or abolition of the Department, directly or according to the suggestions from the universities. The head of the department, the professors of that department, associate professors if they are not present, assistant proffessors in the absence of their absence, and lecturers in the absence of doctoral faculty members are selected by the faculty members and lecturers working in that department and appointed by the dean within a week. If the number of faculty members or lecturers who can be appointed as the head of the department is at most two, the head is directly appointed by the director of the college, the director of the conservatory or the dean. Appointments are reported to the rectorate. The board of the department consists of the heads of the fields of science. In cases where the department covers only one field of science, the board of the department consists of all faculty members and lecturers. The board of the department gives its opinion to the head of the department on the planning and implementation of the programs of the relevant department. Civil Servants Law No. 657, Higher Education Law No. 2547, Higher Education Personnel Law No. 2914, Public Procurement Law No. 4734, Public Financial Management and Control Law No. 5018 and regulations, communiqués, decisions and applicable legislation based on these laws, Süleyman Demirel University Education and Examination Regulations, Higher Education Institutions Student Disciplinary Regulations are the legislation and obligations that regulate the field of activity of the department.